3D Objects, Engineering, Optimizing 3D Prints, Sustainability

Tomographic Scan of a Cone with Low PLA Material Infill

How’s it going!

It’s been a long time since I’ve had time to post anything on my site. I was browsing through some of my old data to clean up my hard drive and came across this interesting heat map change video from the days of optimizing 3D prints.

Interestingly, I only found it with a low-infill PLA cone. I built this to experiment with different 3D printing methods for the infill. At this resolution, it is clear that the infill was not printed uniformly.

You can watch how each layer is gradually formed or captured. Even minor modifications can be seen here. Interestingly, the solid portions have a bright blue color, whereas the other colorful parts change to reflect the varying temperature of the air inside and around the cone during the scan.

Leave a comment